power and the flu

Update: if you’re tired of hearing about sick people, you can just skip this post and take thirty seconds to watch my healthy, 5’11”, 17-year-old brother dunk.

My husband and I have embarked on an intense weight loss program to jump start the New Year. It’s called the stomach flu.

I suppose I was unspecific when I said, “Need to get to the gym more.” It’s important to have specific and measureable goals. Dear universe, when I said that bit about the gym, I meant that I wanted to rebuild muscle, not lose what faint traces are left after the last three-month-long monstrous thing. I had about two good weeks, where I even bought a new workout video, downloaded some free Pilates routines, and hit the gym exactly two times. And then back to this.

All through the fall I talked about wanting just one day to be sick enough to spend it in bed. A good excuse, an unarguable demand for recovery, since I can’t just take care of myself, no . . . Now I’ve had my deathly illness and the day off that I requested, spent almost 100% of that day in bed – and I’m grumpy about it. Hard to please. (I’ll say it.)

I slept in two hour increments yesterday, and every time I awoke, I was thinking, “It’s circle time . . . now it’s lunch time and H is dropping yogurt on his shirt . . . it’s nap time, but M is probably awake by now and waking everyone up early screaming for M-O-M,” and feeling guilty for not being there, since days are always harder without regular teachers.

It also seems our power has been reconnected, maybe seventy-five days after Hurricane Sandy zapped our house, and today’s high is something like sixty beautiful degrees Fahrenheit. It’s a perfect day for taking a hammer to some 1938 plastered walls, but I am still more or less bedridden – and also, completely not helpful – definitely being targeted and bombarded by stink bugs – and my husband is only at the doorway of his stomach flu journey, waiting for something to “happen.”

Godspeed you in your journey.

One thought on “power and the flu

Leave a Reply

